More Awards, More guilt, and an update.

liebster-award

Liebster Award

Okay okay….so the wonderful earthqueenami nominated me for the Liebster award. I am not sure if anyone noticed…but the last time I posted was the last time she nominated me for a wordpress award. September. Of last year. Then I got my butt in gear for exactly one chapter after that. And that’s it.
I’m actually pretty sure I don’t deserve this one. *uncomfortable laugh.   I have even been falling behind on my reading. But I do WANT to keep going. But there have been some things holding me back. BUT lets go though the fun stuff first shall we! So first, about the award.

The Liebster Award is a way to recognize and appreciate fellow bloggers whom you believe deserve some love and attention. This process does come with a few simple rules.

  1. Thank the person who nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person asked you
  3. Nominate other bloggers
  4. Ask your nominees 11 questions of your own (Why 11? Because we like to go one step beyond.)

So Lets do the Liebster thing!

1. Thank the person who nominated you

As I mentioned before earthqueenami, or Ami,  was kind enough to nominate me for this award. She is the author of a Rainbow legacy challenge. Her order isn’t in the typical rainbow style though, but rather she is going across the map of the first Pokemon game from Pallet town to…ok I don’t know exactly the route she is taking so I don’t know where it will end. But as each city is named after a colour, except Pallet which is just like a Pallot of colours, so she started with white. Each child will be named after Pokemon that fit the colour of that generation as well, so the founder is Absol a white….dog…thing. Pokemon are weird to describe lol. Anyway, I am not doing it justice but just trust me, its a lot of fun and a perfectly geeky idea that I just adore. She is currently on generation 6.
She also has a smaller thing going there called a ‘writing challenge’ where sims have to go out and get life experiences before writing a book. I admittedly have been falling behind and haven’t read these but it looks super super cool. I have it open on another tab now and am ready to read it once I am done typing here ;).

Thank you so much Ami, I will try and actually earn it this time. I promise ok? ❤

2. Answer the 11 questions the person asked you

Here are Ami’s questions. I went off a bit on some of them, but I find questions so fun. >.<

  1. If you could live anywhere in the world besides where you live now, where would you choose?
    In truth, I rather like living where I do. My city is a decent size, just barley big enough to get the things I need in but there are lots of trees and things like that and its not a “big city”.  So realistically I can’t think I can’t of anywhere else to live (though there are lots of places I want to visit).
    That said the one thing that sucks here is the weather. It gets crazy cold and relatively hot.  It storms all the time and it is not uncommon for it to blizzard way to late in the seasons. I hate how cold it is here. I’d want to move somewhere warmer I guess.
  2. What is your favorite song right now? What song annoys you the most?
    I actually haven’t really been into music lately. It’s been weird. Music was an important part of my life for all of it. I’m glad it’s coming back a bit.
    My favorite bands are still In Flames, Opeth, and Coheed & Cambria. But I’ve discovered a little recently Iced Earth. I think my favorite song by them right now is Anthem.
  3. If you could only eat foods from one of the five food groups for the rest of your life, which group would you choose?
     Eeeeesh. Realistically “grains” would be the most versatile cus pasta and shit…wait no. Then I’d get no sauce. That’s no good. I guess rice but… :/ Maybe Fruits/Veggies because…salads…tomato soup…? But I don’t know if there are enough calories for me to be ok because I have a stupid metabolism. Now that I think about it I get endemic to so if I don’t pick meat I’d have to take iron pills. I’m assuming spices and stuff don’t count. I wonder about broth and stuff…like would chicken broth be a meat because its just meat water?
    Ok this is way harder than I thought. I would miss meat the most and there feels like I could have the most choices (chicken, fish, hamburger meat) and I eat meat with all my meals but not always one of the others (though usually a grain). Buuuut…I don’t know what would happen if someone just lived off meat lol.
  4. What’s your favorite scary movie?
    I LOVE scary movies! I have so many. One of my favorites is Occulus. Its extremely well made and I love the characters.  You don’t feel like the person is an idiot. They know what they are dealing with and try and prepare accordingly. I’m not saying they don’t make mistakes, I’m saying that you don’t feel like everyone is an idiot. And the bad thing is cool. Lots of cool ‘scary’ moments. One of my favorites.
  5. Which period in history fascinates you the most and why?
    Oh another tough one. There have been many periods in history I’ve studied. And there are periods that are interesting in some places but not as much others (for me.) I mostly study theology of time periods though, I’m pretty familiar with the gods of different places like Egyptian, Norse, Greek,etc. I’m also really familiar with the fall of the Romanov dynasty, though not so much with the rest of WWII (I’m seriously lacking in my Wars knowledge to be honest).
    But maybe you meant culturally? I am fond of Victorian London (who isn’t?) mostly due to Sherlock. He’s one of my favorites. I also love the 20s style. Rosie the Riveter is my girl.
  6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a night out with your friends?
    My friends and I are all into a lot of different types of games. Board games, (I’ll go into detail later 😉 )  Card games (Netrunner, Arcane Horror, Lord of the Rings LCG), Roleplaying games (Pathfinder, Fate, World of Darkness, Iron Kingdomes) and a Table top game called Warmachine (kind of like…warhammer is the one most people would know I guess) that a bunch of us just drove to Toronto for a tournament of actually. I have 4 rolplaying games on the go right now and a 5th one on the way, 1 weekly and 3 that run every second week; 1 high fantasy(every second Sun), 1 in a modified Resident Evil setting(every second Fri), 1 in a modern world but with dark themes and supernaturals (think Supernatural the T.V show..later stuff not the more light fun early stuff, every second Sun), 1 in a steampunk/fantasy type world (actually the same setting of our tabletop war game Warmachine every Thurs) and the one on its way is going to be Dragon Age setting (taking the other every second Fri). We get together every Saturday for Warmachine, and try and schedule a board game day frequently. I also have one friend that comes over almost every night to play video games.
    I could go on forever about any of these games. But this post would be a hundred miles long if I even touched on all of them. So if there are any of those you are curious about just ask me. 😉
  7. If you could marry any fictional character, which would it be and why?A lot of my favorite fictional characters are not exactly marriage material. Like the aforementioned Sherlock.
    What my mind automatically jumps to is the biggest video game crush I ever had/have: Veronica Renata Santangelo, a companion in Fallout New Vegas.
    Veronica_Santangelo
    I don’t know WHY I love her so much. I just do. Everything she says is pure gold, but she also feels real. She’s tough, but she’s also very feminine in her way which most people are afraid to show these days. (her biggest dream is to find a nice dress).
    She’s my Ronnie and I’d marry her in a heartbeat. ❤
  8. Which Disney princess is/was your favorite? How about the princes? Ooh…man there are a lot to chose from now.
    When I was very little my favorite princess was Bell. I was just a toddler and it was may favorite movie, I loved to sing it. I’m not sure when it changed but it became Mulan or Pocahontas. (and Jasmine, though I felt like I needed to let my sister have that one because that’s her name lol).
    Currently my favorite is probably Merida. Mulan, Pocahontas and Jasmine are still great.
    As far as Princess, actually they are not very interesting. I mean, I don’t really have a go to answer for this. I mean Snow White and Cinderella’s princess don’t even get names, just ‘Prince’ and ‘Prince Charming’ respectively.
    I like Phillip’s and Eric’s (Sleeping Beauty and Little Mermaid) interactions with their pets, the Horse…(man had to look that up actually. Horse’s name is Samson) and Max but other than that I don’t feel much in particular for them. Adam/Beast is a good choice, even if he is actually a butt for most of his movie.
    As much as I feel like John Smith should be boring (if anyone should be boring, a man named John Smith aught to qualify) I actually like his attitude and dialogue even if he screws up sometimes and says something dumb, I like how he makes an effort to learn a new perspective.
    Kistoff and Flynn are both pretty good. I feel like they are tied but not for top. John might beat them out a little too actually.
    My top two would probably be Aladdin and Li Shang. Not sure who is top between the tow, they might be tied.
  9. If you could have any animal as a pet, which would you want? What would you name it?
    I want a snake so badly but I also love mice and rats and don’t want to feed a snake one. I’ve been looking into fish or egg based diet snacks but I can’t find a whole lot yet. Obviously it requires a lot more research.
    I also want a hedgehog. They are expensive though.
    Now…with the addtion of the word “ANY” there I feel obligated to go a little more exotic. I’d love a Skunk or a fox or any large/medium cat.  I would say a fennic fox but I don’t like their scream, it freaks me out. Oh, a goat would be good. OK, I just really love animals and I want all kinds. I still need to own at least a reptile, some sort of insect or aracnid, a farm animal…I want to expand my pet portfolio lol.
    I don’t know what I would name them yet. Video game characters, a god or goddess (likely Norse) or something just overly ‘cleaver’ is most likely.
    The only pre-name I have is if I ever get a big dog, likely a rottweiler,  I want to call him Dodecahedron and I’d just call him Deca. I just think it’s fun. It’s the ‘proper’ name for a d12, or 12 sided die (or shape I guess). I’d prefer a d20 since that’s the classic roleplay die but Icosahedron doesn’t shorten to something I find rolls off the tongue as well. Cosa or Icosa? It makes an ok female name I guess but I’d rather a male dog and for some reason I feel like Deca suites a rottweiler really well.
  10. Do you play board games? If so, which do you have the fondest memories of playing?
    As mentioned, I play boardgames a lot.
    Clue was a big one in my family, not even entirely sure why. And while we did have and occasionally play other classic games like Life and Monopoly, really Clue was it for that style.
    My family and my friends play tonnes of boardgames. Some of my favorites include:
    Betrayal at the House on the hill: a horror game where the board changes and builds every time and partway through the game it changes and one of you will be granted a secret mission to go against the others. They know who you are but not what your mission is. In only the base game there is 70 different scenarios. It’s incredible.
    Dead of Winter: a zombie apocalypse game focused on survival. It’s very difficult.
    Mystyrium: a game where 1 player plays a ghost and the others are Mediums. The ghost gives abstract arty cards and the mediums have to try and figure out what person, place, and thing the card is referencing. Its hard to describe but its one of my new games that has shot to the top pf my favorites very quickly.
    I have lots and lots more and its tempting to get into the cards games I play to but as I said before I will be here forever if I do lol. If you want recommendations or just curious about one of them feel free to ask though!
  11. And last but not least, the most important question: Left or right Twix?
    I wish I had something long and clever to go here but…I don’t eat candy really and don’t like Twix.
    That said: my rule is always Good adventures go Left so…Left it is!

    3. Nominate other bloggers

    I’m so out of touch with sims blogs at this point…But I will still do my best.
    Of the few people I’m still following many have already been nominated. I’ll name a couple, please forgive me if I don’t name you and I am supposed to be following you my follow looks like a mess right now I need to go through it, I defiantly seem to be missing some. I might have had a super purgey day…

    That said:

    Heather from the Zale ISBI – One of my favorite sim stories. I’ve sung her praises many a time and I am always happy to do so again.

    somebodysangel13 does so much. I mean really.
    Young Forever – a backwards isbi
    Rourke Epic Legacy
    Maloney WYDC
    So any of those you can not go wrong with. A backwards ISBI, an Epic Legacy, and a Who’s Your Daddy Challenge.

    That’s basically it for my un-nominated follows.

4. Ask your nominees 11 questions of your own 

  1. Besides sims, what is your favorite video game/games?
  2. What made you pick your username?
  3. What made you pick your challenge or legacy style?
  4. How did you make/pick your founder?
  5. What movie have you seen recently that you were really impressed by?
  6. Where do you fall on the nerd/geek spectrum? Or not at all? Why?
  7. Coke or Pepsi?
  8. What’s your favorite pokemon?
  9. What is your favorite magic style? That is to say, what movie, show, book, or game, used magic in a way that felt cool or real to you? Do you prefer wands, rituals, some other style?
  10. Do you watch any Youtubers or Twitchers? Who?
  11. If you belong to a Fandom, what’s one thing that you feel like everyone else in it loves but you do not?

Cultracy Update

So I am just not in a good place with this legacy. I have a few options, and I need your help to pick them.

1st, all the mess and nonsense, I need to do a bit of a time jump. Its not a big one but I feel I need to mention it.

Even so, I just don’t have as much fun with 3 as I used to. I just really like 4 better. (I don’t actually own it yet, I use my family account. I do want to get it when its on sale so I can have an account to upload any legacy members and stuff eventually).
BUT if I transfer to 4 there is not nearly as many culture items and I can’t do the ending idea I had.

SO I have 2 options.

  1. Shorten the lifespan, (again lol) and do less generations (7 or 5 instead of 10) and finish up the Cultracy in 3.
  2. Transfer to 4.

Honestly there are good points for each. I could probably make it through 5 or 7 generations ok, but I am not going to do 10. Its just too poorly optimized. And it just makes me want to play 4.

Here’s what the new lifespans would look like, in sim days. The current lifespan was only in use for a single chapter, so it hardly counts but its there for reference.

New
Baby- 2
Toddler- 6
Child- 20
Teen- 28
Y.A- 28
Adult- 56
Elder- 28
Total- 168
Current
Baby- 7
Toddler- 21
Child- 28
Teen- 28
Y.A- 56
Adult- 56
Elder- 28
Total- 224
Original
Baby- 7
Toddler- 21
Child- 28
Teen- 28
Y.A- 70
Adult- 70
Elder- 36
Total- 260
As you can see its a fair bit shorter so it SHOULD be ok.
So what do you all think? I want to continue this family and not give up on it. Not to mention use items I bought specifically for this family that I haven’t used yet. And the fun-ish ending I planned.  And I don’t know that the ‘theme’ of Cultracy could carry over far into 4. So it would be like starting fresh. But 4 is just easier to use, runs better, and I think is more fun.
I really need your voices on this one guys.
7 thoughts on “More Awards, More guilt, and an update.

  1. Welcome back!
    Always happy to see when you have posted something new. You have been dealing with a lot of crap in your life… a LOT… so don’t beat yourself up about not being able to post on a regular basis. I’m sure I speak for others when I say that I have enjoyed reading your legacy, as you are a fantastic writer, but maybe starting something new and fresh in a new Sims world would be a great way to get back in to the swing of things.
    As far as the nomination goes, don’t take it as something you haven’t earned. Maybe take it more as a gentle push that those that follow you are missing you and ready for more of your stories?

    • Yeah things have been pretty crazy here. I hope that I can continue the story one way or another soon. And I’ll try and think of it as just a push. Thanks Sunshine! 🙂

  2. I really wanna see how you finish this up and I love the characters so much, I’d hate to see a transfer lessen the story or for you to scrap it altogether. The shortened lifespan is a good plan. Maybe end on generation 7? Anyway, I look forward to reading the rest even if your updates are super spread out. I’m behind in reading lots of stuff anyway so fewer updates sometimes means I actually get off my lazy butt and read them LOL

    • Yeah, I am worried that transferring will kind of ruin the flavor of the story. Thats why I had to put it too a vote because I really don’t know what the better option is lol. We’ll see what the results are and I’ll take it from there.
      I know what you mean about being behind on reading too. I need to take a couple days and purge my too read list desperately lol.

  3. 21 days as a toddler. Wow. That is just obscenely long. 7 days in toddlerdom is plenty long enough. Actually your proposed new lifespans for child and teen are still crazy long, and sound like torture to me. You could switch to the defualt 90 day span. That would help get through their life quicker.

    • I can’t imagine going any lower than I have lol. I’m already sad that the kids won’t get a full rotation as a toddler/baby. I don’t overly mind dropping young adult down to the same as teen because I realized you are actually not a YA for very long and this way they can focus on just having fun if that is what they want and not kids and what ever without me being impatient. Some very family orientated sims might still have kids right away but realistically only very family focused sims would.

Say somthing about it

